Catholicatus Gallo-Russo-Byzantinus
Γαλατικό-Ρωσικό-Βυζαντινό Καθολικάτο
Γалльский-Русский-Византийский Католикосат 

The Gallo-Russo-Byzantine Catholicate is one of the integral universal jurisdictions of H.H. the Florentine-Roman Papa, along with the Coadjutorship of Rome, Anglo-Roman Metropolitan See of Aquileia, the Anglo-Roman Province of Italy, and the Anglican Patriarchate of Rome also held by the Archfather.  Angelo Cardinal Sodano, as Secretary of State and acting on behalf and in the name of Benedict XVI, confirmed the historic rights and privileges of the Imperial Roman Church (Anglican Patriarchate of Rome and Gallo-Russo-Byzantine Catholicate), including as an independent and sovereign Catholic jurisdiction. The Catholicate is derived from the diverse Apostolic heritage and authority of the Imperial Roman Church, which is both east and west. The Catholicate and its members may be described as Old Roman Catholic, Old Catholic, or Pontifical Orthodox. Most completely, it can be called Pontifical Orthodox Old Catholic. It has its own ancient liturgy, the Gallo-Russo-Byzantine Rite, which is both eastern and western, a combination of the liturgy of St. John Chrysostom and the Tridentine rite. 

The Catholicate is coterminous with and senior to the Anglican Patriarchate of Rome and derives its name specifically from the principle lines of Apostolic authority that are held in addition to Roman: Gallican, Russian, and Byzantine/Greek. 

The Papa-Catholicos is 266th in succession from St. Peter the Apostle as Prince of the Romans, 74th Grand Duke of Ruthenia, 142nd in Gallican-Antioch succession from St. Peter, 169th in Greco-Russian succession from St. Andrew the First-Called, and 116th in Syrian-Antioch succession from St. Thomas the Apostle.

Additionally, even though it is not formally a member of other ecclesiasl bodies, the Catholicate and entire Imperial Roman Church has historical communion and shared heritage with the Anglican Communion and the Philippine Independent Church (also known as the Philippine Independent Catholic Church) via the historic First Chair of the Catholicate and Anglican Patriarchate, as Bishop of the Southwest, located at St. Chad's Cathedral. Both are in turn in communion with the Old Catholic See of Utrecht.

His Grace H. Edwin Caudill was consecrated by Macario V. Ga, Supreme Bishop of the Philippine Independent Church, and Bishops Frank Benning and John Hamers. 21 October 1993, Holy Cross Polish National Catholic Church, Brooklyn, New York. The remnants of his See, the Diocese of the Southwest, after suffering a schism, became part of the Apostolic Communion of Anglican Churches in 2008. This included the Very Rev. Dean John Mark Vornholt, who returned in 2009, recognizing it as the authentic continuation of the Diocese of the Southwest in which he had previously served under Bishop Caudill. The new Bishop of the Southwest was the Vicar-General of the Apostolic Communion of Anglican Churches. He was subsequently succeeded by H.H. Papa Rutherford I (then Archbishop Johnson) as its Metropolitan. Thereafter its territorial boundaries changed as it became the Coadjutorship of Rome and Apostolic See of the Gallo-Russo-Byzantine Catholicate and Anglican Patriarchate of Rome.

The Old Roman Catholic Apostolic heritage of the Catholicate also historically enjoyed an intercommunion with the ancient Orthodox Patriarchal Sees of Antioch and Alexandria, the first See of the Apostle Peter and the second See of the Apostle Mark respectively. These agreements were achieved by Archbishop Arnold Harris Mathew. The intercommunion with Antioch was signed on 5 August 1911, and the intercommunion with Alexandria was signed the following year.

These agreements in practical terms have lapsed, but they have never been rescinded. They remain an important and valued part of the heritage of the Catholicate, Anglican Patriarchate of Rome, and the entire Imperial Roman Church. Combined with other historic agreements, they solidify the historic and current canonical status of the Imperial Roman Church. (See also this page.)

Page of the Pontifical Roman State

The Gallican Rite

Pontifical Court

Patriarchal Curia

Pontifical Kingdom of Ruthenia

Frequently Asked Questions

News Service - Il Nunzio Romano

The Stato Pontificio Romano constitutes an ecclesiastical sovereignty by right of Rome as heir to the Roman Empire with an independent government in special consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (as the Anglican Rite Roman Catholic Church). Additionally, the church descends from the See of Utrecht, which was granted autonomy in 1145 by Pope Eugene III and confirmed in 1520 by Pope St. Leo X in the Bull Debitum Pastoralis. As the sole successor of Pope St. Leo X and temporal successor of St. Peter the Apostle, the Catholicate and Patriarchate are fully Catholic and holds the same canonical authority as the Roman Communion (Vatican). The Catholicate and Patriarchate are the ecclesiastical successor to temporal Rome, the temporal patrimony of the Roman Empire claimed historically by right of the papacy. The succession passed to the Catholicate after Benedict XVI by right of Rome and Florence, with the Papa-Catholicos with papal authority as temporal successor of St. Peter, and the Pope-Bishop of Rome as spiritual successor of St. Peter and de facto sovereign of the Vatican City-State. Although administratively independent, the Apostolic See embraces as brethren other Catholic, Orthodox, and Anglican bodies, such as the current Roman Communion (commonly referred to as the Roman Catholic Church), the Anglican Ordinariate, Eastern Orthodox Churches, and the Anglican Communion. The Imperial Roman Church is defined as the Gallo-Russo-Byzantine Catholicate, the Anglican Patriarchate of Rome, and the churches of all Bishops recognised by the Catholicate. The governments of the modern republics of Italy, German, France, Switzerland, Russia, Belarus, Ukraine, and the United States, and of the modern kingdoms of Great Britain and Spain, as well as the European Union and all other civil states, are not affiliated with the Stato Pontificio government in exile.